Customer Reviews 2017-06-22T00:27:32+00:00

 

feedback headerCustomer Reviews


(Click here for further reviews, sales history, and more on my Etsy shop)
(Due to the amount of feedback I receive VIA this page isn’t updated frequently)


Reviewed by Heather Dean on May 3, 2017

This template was perfect for helping to see if the Island Chain Artwork would fit our chosen location. Fast delivery, exactly as described. Easy to use. Very small purchase but definitely worth it. We actually found a new location that worked better because of the template.


Reviewed by Charissa Pellegrin on April 16, 2017

Beautiful and perfect!! Josh is very professional and accommodating. My custom order is exactly what I asked for. And the template made hanging the islands super easy. A unique and rare find.


Reviewed by Daniel Moth on March 24, 2017

Islands look great, can’t wait to get them on the wall! Josh was very easy to work with: responsive, flexible, and informative. All that, plus high quality work, delivered on time.


January 7, 2017

My review:
Ordered the Cast Copper Hawaiian Island Chain to display on my wall at home.
I ordered it during this past Holiday Season 2016. When I opened the box, the islands were damaged.
I contacted Josh and explained what I received, he was very responsive and acted quickly to help.
Josh’s work is outstanding and I recommend to anybody who wants a chain of the Hawai’ian Islands is to get his work!
Thank you very much Josh! I love my Hawai’ian Islands!

Much Mahalo’s,
Virgil Cadiente


Reviewed by Davidee Doss on January 4th
Amazing quality craftsmanship. I highly recommend this vendor!!!


January 3, 2017
Thank you!! Thank you!! Thank you!! We love the islands. I appreciate your hard work in getting this done before Christmas. It looks fantastic.
Lisa Frey


Reviewed by spanishcastle18 on December 21, 2016
Loved it!! Thank you so much!
Report this review Contact buyer


Reviewed by BLing Bling on December 17, 2016

Looks spectacular! Just like the image, I truly love it! Thank you very much. Aloha! 🙂
Report this review Contact buyer


Reviewed by dtssystems on September 23, 2016

Josh has very good communication and is willing to work with any requests you can throw at him. The island chain I purchased is stunning, the attention to detail and quality of the items makes them well worth the purchase price. Would recommend using Josh for your purchase.


Reviewed by hawyngrl1  August 28, 2016

Just got Bk from vacation and finally got to put this up. Beautiful it is,,,, thank you Josh


Reviewed by Lloyd Shimabuku on August 16, 2016
Josh
Mahalo for your outstanding work and craftsmanship. We just love it.


Reviewed by jswinkel921 On December 26, 2016

Josh, we opened the package yesterday and i have to say, everyone in the room was blown away. What a fantastic job you did, the craftmanship is fantastic. This is truly a piece of art and will be treasured for years to come.
Merry christmas to you and THANK YOU
(Koa Island Chain~Etsy.com Store)


Reviewed by madison33 on December 22, 2015

I bought this for my husband for Christmas and am so excited to see how it looks on the wall. We were married on Maui in 2012 and just love Hawaii. Josh credited me with free shipping because he felt he took too long while away on vacation which I thought was sweet. Thank you so much for sending your beautiful islands to New Hampshire for us to enjoy. Mahalo, Sue


Reviewed by courtneyo724 on December 16, 2015

It’s perfect! Thank you so so much! It looks amazing above our TV and we’ve gotten so many compliments! You may have some new customers headed your way from Cali 🙂

Your detail work is beautiful, thanks again! 🙂


 

Reviewed by saphie78  on October 6, 2015

I bought this for my husband for our 5 year wedding anniversary. (We were married in Maui.) I loved it. More importantly, my husband loved it!


Reviewed by Zosan  on October 2, 2015

I totally love this art works, it is really beautiful ! Great communication, Can’t ask more about this seller.
Thank you so much, Josh!!


Reviewed by Vicky Golston on August 30, 2015

Josh did a great job and his work is on point! The 60 dollar Koa wood option is more of a shelf/desk top piece than a wall piece like the rest of his work, which isn’t what I expected, but I still love what I received.


Reviewed by Alex Klikoff on August 18, 2015

The quality and price are excellent!


July 31, 2015

Hi Josh,

Joy and I love the koa islands and put these on the wall as soon as it was delivered. This made Joy’s birthday and our wedding anniversary very special. You do fine work. Thanks. Check out the pictures.

Dennis & Joy Dobies


Reviewed by jessinkailua on July 23, 2015

I love the detail and design of this piece of art. Very happy with the service. Will be buying more art pieces in the future.


Reviewed by Nick on June 16, 2015

The islands are of excellent quality and finish. The turnaround time and shipping was extremely fast and Josh went out of his way to ensure he met my timeframe. Thanks for a great experience!


Reviewed by solmsted76  on May 27, 2015

One word…..AMAZING! The workmanship is detailed and perfect. The hanging system was SUPER easy. Love, love, love it!!!!!


Reviewed by Kristin Park May 12, 2015

  • The Koa Maui sculpture is perfect! It arrived wrapped carefully. It’s a beautiful addition to my home and provides a great conversation piece and loads of Maui memories.

Reviewed by Sandy and Davis May 9, 2015

We had the most amazing 20th anniversary on the Big Island of Hawaii. We wanted something special to commemorate our trip. Josh’s Island Chain was it. We love Hawaii’s koa wood, however, Australia has such strict biosecurity rules, so we weren’t sure how we’d go with getting a wooden set cleared through customs. Josh worked with us and created a beautiful copper set that matched our needs perfectly. The magnetic fastening system makes it easy to take them down for discussion and then simply reattach. And they are topographically accurate, unlike many of his competitor’s sets that just have gouges and dings nothing like the real contours of the islands. He has thought of every last detail. Its wonderful to be able to liaise directly with the artist. He took great care in wrapping the island set for international shipping. We honestly can’t recommend his artwork highly enough– fantastic experience from start to finish. Thanks for being the icing on the cake to a special anniversary celebration!


May 4, 2015

Hi Josh,

Just wanted to send along a picture of the island chain we installed in the hallway between our kitchen and the living area. We get to see it and enjoy it many times every day at this location.

We are thrilled with the quality of the artwork and especially appreciate the dedication piece. Mahalo for working with us on this order. Please don’t hesitate to reach out if you have any ideas for which you’d like an unbiased opinion.
Again, Mahalo for art that reminds us every day of the many vacations we’ve spent in Hawaii.

David


 April 17, 2015

Greetings Joshua. Our Island Chain package arrived yesterday and looks fantastic. Thank you very much!

Regards,
Mike & Kristen Inkrott
(HawaiiWoodart.com Email Review)


March 28, 2015

Josh,
I just wanted to let you know how very pleased I am with your product. It is absolutely perfect.
Thanks for the quick shipment.
John Murk
(HawaiiWoodart.com Email Review)


 

Reviewed by surfcolo March 12, 2015

This is fantastic! The islands are represented beautifully with the Cast Iron… the look I wanted for my house. Hanging them is a breeze with the included nails and magnets on the backs of the islands. Also included is a template so that the spacing of the islands is exact! What a beautiful product. I am so happy with this purchase. I have been looking for years for this exact product!


 Reviewed by Heather Williams February 6, 2015

AMAZING! We just got our islands order and hung it right away. The template was perfect and helpful, and each island was center-weighted perfectly so they hung properly using the magnets! We love our art piece!!


 

Reviewed by angelinevancamp  January 15, 2015
Koa Wood Hawaiian Island Chain Wall Set.
Josh was really easy to deal with.
When my package got lost he went over and above to make sure we got our islands.
Which are beautiful!!!!


Reviewed by Jim January 11, 2015
Koa Wood Hawaiian Island Chain Wall Set. Relief Map of Hawaii from Koa
The Koa carved Hawaiian island chain I received was perfect!
The craftsmanship was second to none! Josh was a pleasure to deal with.
He made sure the gift for my sister got here before Christmas even though I was late in ordering it.
I have seen others selling the same type of things on Big Island but the craftsmanship does not compare and they are twice as expensive.
Thanks Josh. Aloha.


Reviewed by George Guerrero  December 31, 2014
Hawaiian island Chain Art | Made from Koa and Mango wood.
Beautiful custom work, wonderful craftsmanship


Reviewed by Jessica Coleman  December 14, 2014
Koa Wood Hawaiian Island Chain Wall Set. Relief Map of Hawaii from Koa
Absolutely stunning!  We lived on Kauai for a few years but now back on the mainland we wanted something in our home as a reminder of why we will one day return!
The craftsmanship is incredible. Worth every penny.


Reviewed by hawaiidavid1  November 11, 2014
Koa Wood Hawaiian Island Chain Wall Set. Relief Map of Hawaii from Koa
Beautiful work of art! I received it just days after placing my order.
Josh has made me a very satisfied customer!


Reviewed by Maui Sue November 1, 2014
Koa Wood Hawaiian Island Chain Wall Set. Relief Map of Hawaii from Koa
This is absolutely stunning!
I can’t wait to hang it! I’ve been looking for an island chain set for a long time,  but never found just the “right” one. This is by far, the nicest I’ve seen. I love that this is handcrafted from Koa wood.
The communication from Josh was always prompt and the packaging was excellent and well secured.
I definitely suggest getting the magnetic set.
I know between that and the wonderful template enclosed, hanging it will be a breeze.
Many thanks, Josh for creating such beautiful art!


Reviewed by Steve Z September 25, 2014
Koa Wood Hawaiian Island Chain Wall Set. Relief Map of Hawaii from Koa
These look great. Love the finish, and the koa wood is beautiful.
The magnets are a neat, simple way to hang them nice and flush on the wall.


Reviewed by umekin on September 16, 2014
Koa Wood Hawaiian Island Chain Wall Set. Relief Map of Hawaii from Koa
I love this chain so much! It has Koa’s scent which is so nice! I hear that I am his first customer in Japan.
It took about 2 weeks for him to make this chain and another week for me to get it.
I was able to enjoy talking with him in easy English. I recommend Japanese people should order this beautiful chain to him.


Reviewed by jhutt7 August 28, 2014
Koa Wood Hawaiian Island Chain Wall Set. Relief Map of Hawaii from Koa
Dealing with Hamakua Wood Working was a pleasure. The Island Chain came quickly and as described.
The detail is beautiful and we have received many compliments.
It was worth the extra cost to have the magnets added and we greatly appreciated the island template that they included. Wonderful company and beautiful artwork!


Reviewed by mkelly103 on June 18, 2014
Koa Wood Hawaiian Island Chain Wall Set
Great item! Beautifully produced. Delivered with all the necessary hardware (magnet version) and a template for proper positioning when hanging. I recommend the magnet version for ease of installation, etc.


Reviewed by PainfullyNew May 8, 2014
Hawaiian Island of Maui Made From Curly Koa or Mango
Wonderfully crafted and unique souvenir.


Reviewed by gsakima May 7, 2014
Koa Hawaii Island Chain for Ginelle.
Handmade with aloha indeed. This item is beautifully done. The woodworking craftsmanship is superb.
We were amazed at the small details and awesome magnets sunk into the back of each island.
Hanging them on the wall was a breeze.


Reviewed by marylynnsvoboda February 27, 2014
Koa Wood Hawaiian Island Chain Wall Set
This Hawaiian Island Chain is beautifully carved and is a wonderful reminder of our Maui vacations.
Josh answered all my questions quickly and my package arrived exactly when promised.


Reviewed by Monte Kesslering February 20, 2014
Koa Wood Hawaiian Island Chain Wall Set
Our Hawaiian Island Chain is a real conversation piece in our den with lots of debate over whether they are placed “just right”. Magnets in Islands were sure slick for hanging.
Was a little concerned about the lack of a template, but looked on-line for a map and then used the rough guidelines on how much space the islands would cover to get map size using the wrapping paper.
Put a dot where the island’s were, put homemade template on wall and just hammered nails through the dot and voila, perfectly spaced islands. 
I appreciated the service from Josh in ensuring the order was just right. Excellent value and less that half of the cost of buying similar carvings in stores on Maui.

(Thanks for the feedback! I now include a template!)


Reviewed by Stephen Bernstein February 13, 2014
Spalted Mango Hawaii Island Chain Wall Set.
Beautiful Island set. Amazingly accurate! Fits beautifully on the wall in my Den.
Thanks for the great communication and beautiful work!


Reviewed by Michelle Cerepak January 26, 2014
Big Island of Hawaii made from Locally Grown Mango.
I just received my Big Island in the mail! I absolutely love this piece and am amazed at Josh’s eye for detail! I can’t believe i found this amazing piece of art at such an amazing price! I will definitely be visiting this shop again in the future for gifts for others as well as myself! Thank you so much!


Reviewed by Arthur Mallet  January 24, 2014
Large Oahu Island Carving made with Mango or Koa Wood.
a flawless transaction and a beautiful piece…thanks!


Reviewed by Trisha Lee January 21, 2014
Large Koa Wood Hawaiian Island Chain Wall Art Set
We are so pleased with Josh’s work. We purchased the large Koa wood Hawaiian Island chain wall art set after seeing a similar product in a shop in Whaler’s village for much more.
He was easy to work with, was on time with the order and we absolutely love it!


Reviewed by cmkohn January 16, 2014
Large Oahu Island Carving made with Mango or Koa Wood.
Unique and beautiful – a perfect edition to our coastal-themed home to remind us of our favorite place on earth!


Reviewed by Licia Young December 25, 2013
Hawaiian Island of Maui Made From Curly Koa
Beautifully woodworked and a pleasure to do business with this artisan!
Delighted to have been able to make custom requests as well, thanks very much!


Reviewed by pocodeceu December 12, 2013
Custom Made Koa & Mango Hawaii Island Chain Plaque
Great customer service. Item was as expected. Looks great. I even got to see a picture of the completed item before it was shipped out. Seller wanted to make sure I liked the way it looked.


Reviewed by Jonathan Albert November 30, 2013
Big Island of Hawaii made from Curly Koa
Beautiful koa! Will look great on the wall.


Reviewed by Rachel Felling July 22, 2013
Koa Wood Hawaiian Island Chain Wall Set
I purchased a Hawaiian Island set in mango wood from Josh as an anniversary gift for my husband.
Josh was great in communicating through the process, even sending me photos of the work in progress as he custom made the set. He shipped it quickly and with insurance and tracking.
Once I received the set, I was so happy with my decision to purchase this from Josh.
He is a true artist. The detail of each island is fantastic. I see this as something that will be in our home forever, no matter where we live. This is a true work of art and a great keepsake.
Thank you so much, Josh! Worth every penny!


Reviewed by Cindy Weisel June 5, 2013
Big Island of Hawaii Made from mango for Cindy Weisel
Purchased a single big island piece from mango wood.
Product was beautiful and shipping was super fast!


Reviewed by ontai May 15, 2013
Hawaiian Island Chain Large Wall Set. Made in Hawaii. Locally Grown Mango
Couldn’t be happier. The magnets are genius, hanging them is a breeze.
Used my computer/projector to put a google map of Hawaii on the wall and thumbtacks and got a perfectly geographically correct piece of art.


Reviewed by kateeliz33 February 2, 2013
Large Hawaiian Island Chain Wall Set. Made in Hawaii from Locally Grown Mango
Beautiful! I love the topographical detail. The magnets for hanging is brilliant.